My Panels at FIYAHCON’s Fringe Programming

FIYAHCON is a virtual convention centering the perspectives and celebrating the contributions of BIPOC in speculative fiction. Hosted by FIYAH Literary Magazine. The inaugural event will take place on October 17-18, 2020 and will host a variety of entertaining and educational content surrounding the business, craft, and community of speculative literature.

Where the magazine is focused specifically on the elevation of Black voices in short speculative fiction, FIYAHCON seeks to center the perspectives and experiences of BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, and People of Color).

Thank you to FIYACON, Vida Cruz and Iora Kusano for inviting me to be both a panelist and a moderator. Join us! All the Fringe events are free! You can find my schedule below:

Running A Genre Magazine – Friday 10/16 10:00pm EDT (which will be Saturday 10am in Singapore) with Eliana González Ugarte • Terrie Hashimoto • Salik Shah • Victor Fernando R. Ocampo (Moderator)

To many writers, the inner workings of magazines are utterly opaque. Our panel of editors can give you insight into what things look like on their side of the desk: financial legal considerations, unexpected challenges, how to best promote authors’ work. This panel is great for any author who wants to see how a magazine is made, especially if they’re considering starting a magazine of their own!

Should I Italicize That? – Friday 10/16 02:00am EDT (which will be Saturday 02:00pm in Singapore) with Shiv Ramdas • Zen Cho • Victor Fernando R. Ocampo • Yukimi Ogawa • Iori Kusano (Moderator)

It’s the eternal struggle: why do we italicize takoyaki but not taco? What counts as a loanword? Do italics highlight distinctive aspects of cultures settings, or do they exoticize it? Should we italicize anything at all? Panelists will share how they approach this problem within their own work, including how to discuss it with editors agents.